On trying to become somebody

So, these last few days I’ve been trying to figure out what I will write about on this blog. Since I have time off from school, I figured this would be the perfect time to plan out my writing. So, I sat down and actually drew up a “Plan for Blogging.” I have many ideas, perhaps so many that I don’t know where to start. Meanwhile, I posted a question on my facebook page that stated “What do you do when have two weeks of from school?” I was surprised that people actually responded. My favorite comment was “what do you want to do?” You know, I actually had to sit back and think about that. What do I want to do? I believe this question has been the motivating factor behind me becoming the ‘itinerant teacher.’ In fact, it has lead me to once again search for the job that I can love. So far, my efforts in this area have proved fruitless.

If I am getting close to answering the ‘what do you want to do question,’ then I would probably say that I want to be SOMEBODY. Sure, maybe Jesse Jackson said it first, but this is important. I think perhaps many of us are searching for the distinguishing factor that makes us standout from the masses. And, of course, people from my generation (Generation Y), have to need to find fulfilling work.

I may not know exactly what I want to do, but I know that I definitely want to be somebody. I want to be special. I want to do some important and significant work. I want to love my job. I want to feel happy when I come to work. I want to feel satisfied when I return home from work at the end of the day. I want to be able to connect with others who have a similar experiences.

For these reasons, I feel like the next big step in journey to becoming “somebody” is to earn a PhD. Now, the task upon me is to decide on a dissertation topic (no one starts a PhD program unless they already know what they want to study, otherwise you’ll be stuck in the program for years). I’m not sure if I want to continue studying History or move on to Islamic Studies. I tinkered with the idea of Sociology. But at heart, I am a Humanities thinker, not a Social Scientist. Perhaps, I could include Sociological concepts in my research and historicize it. Ah hah… Finally, I have some ideas. Could this be my way to become somebody? Or, am I already somebody and I have not realized it yet?

One thought on “On trying to become somebody

  1. No i think you should quit your job and get your Phd:) it is very important but you should leave the school because you are bigger than just a teacher you are ” Rashida outlaw”

    Like

Leave a Reply

